Why payment pre-authorisation?
For added payment security, 13cabs now pre-authorises your payment method to protect you against fraud.
When will 13cabs pre-authorise my payment?
When a new payment method is added and every time you request a trip.
Is the pre-authorisation hold amount equal to my trip amount?
Not necessarily. The pre-authorisation hold amount is a predetermined amount that either represents the full amount of the estimated fare for your booking or $1 or any other predetermined amount as may be required by 13cabs.
Why is there a 'pending' charge on my card statement when I haven't taken a trip?
This is a temporary pre-authorisation hold on your selected payment method and not an actual charge. This verifies that the card loaded is active and in good standing.
When is a payment authorisation released?
When you reach your destination, the authorisation hold is released and the final trip amount is charged to your selected payment method, minus the pre-authorised amount (if any).
What happens to my payment authorisation when I cancel my booking?
If the booking is cancelled, 13cabs will release the authorisation hold immediately, however please note that your financial institution may take 2-7 business days to process the payment authorisation reversal.
Will 13cabs pre-authorise all my bookings?
Pre-authorisation holds may be made on selected bookings only or may be made on all bookings, taking into account the number of trips you have previously taken, your payment method and/or the value of the estimate fare of your trip.
What if my payment pre-authorisation fails?
If, for any reason, your payment authorisation fails, you will receive a message stating so, and requesting at your discretion to try another card or payment method. In such cases, you will not be able to book a trip with 13cabs unless you have successfully completed the trip pre-authorisation.